Cutting a V-groove all the way through material

Ever have one of those days where you were CERTAIN you were missing something obvious? I’m sure that this has been discussed, but I cannot find the proper keywords to find it in search.

I want to cut a 60-degree groove all the way through my material. I have a 60-degree bit. The material is .5 inches thick, which is SLIGHTLY larger than my bit (Freud #20-152), although it is labeled .5".

I’ve attached a crude diagram of what I am trying to do. I want to end up with 2 panels, each with a 30-degree bevel cut into their edge.

My first attempt, I just made passes over the same line, going a bit deeper each time. I ended up with a “ridge” at the top of the groove on each side, because I didn’t account account for the width of the bit.

The second time, I used Vectric (although I am asking about the technique, much more than the software… I could use any software, I don’t much care) to cut a chamfer each direction from the same line. This wasn’t ideal for two reasons (although I did NOT end up with a ridge).

• It took FOREVER. I don’t think the path I generated was efficient at all.
  • It left cut lines (see other photo) and I’m not sure whose should be there, if I’m using a 60-degree v-groove bit.

Can someone explain to be exactly HOW I am making this infinitely more difficult than it should be? And how I can make this cut, which just doesn’t seem like it should be THAT difficult, much more accurately and faster?
goove example

I just use a line:

and a No Offset Contour toolpath:

(though usually it’s part of making a box and it’s w/ a #301 or other 90 degree tool)

Jog down to the surface of the stock and set zero relative to it and it should “just work”.

When I did it that way (or at least when I thought that I did it that way) I ended up with a ridge of unleveled 90-degree at the lip of the groove. (see updated diagram)
goove example

Is there some way I can avoid that with some setting I’m not setting properly?