Cutting gears out of plywood

Hey I’m new in the CNC world and I’m trying to cut some gears out of plywood for a project that i have in mind. When i try to open the vector files for the gears in Create pro, all the teeth disappear and all I can see is a circle. Has anybody any idea of why is this happening? is there something that I’m doing wrong?
Thanks

You are showing a .pdf file. Are you sure the whole gear is vectors?

1 Like

That looks like a PDF, do you have an actual SVG file of the gears?

If you can’t get it to work, try this web site: https://www.jeromeleary.com/gears/

It lets you save gears as .dxf files, which you can open in Carbide Create

1 Like

It looks like your working on one of Brian Laws clocks. If that’s the case import the included stl file in CCPro and cut as a 2D object. Be sure to import into a box the size of the object.

Yes I do have the file with many pieces and all the gears. The pdf shown is a list of pieces as reference

Which version of Carbide Create are you using? These files are supposed to work well in the new beta:

https://carbide3d.com/blog/create-big-file-update/

you got me…lol. Yes, is a Brian Laws clock. I’ll do as you suggest

The version I’m using is 764

Please try the new beta:

if that still has problems, send the file in to projects@carbide3d.com

Never heard of these, very cool, not like i need another project :slight_smile:

Unfortunately this clock doesn’t come with an .STL file but it does come with .STEP and .IGS files. Both of them too large to convert online

I just installed de last Beta version of CCPro and now i can’t even open the files, It shows an error every time I try. I’m sending a sample gear file

If you can share one of them, I can convert to dxf for you.

I opened the DXF file in Lightburn software, exported it as SVG and then imported it in CCPro. It seems to be working perfectly now. Thank you Will

1 Like