Design Question

I’m new to CNC and have been working on a file to design a badge that will go on a flag. I have worked on the file for several hours and still not sure how to finish the badge. The flag and straight lines seem pretty easy but the design of the badge is giving me a lot of trouble. Would any one on here be willing to help with the design of the badge.

1 Like

Post the file, and describe the problem. Also describe how the final product will look. i.e. which areas will be raised, which cut out, how deep? angled sides or vertical?
There are a bunch of people here that will jump in & help. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Sheriff’s Badge Flag.c2d (820 KB)

I have not even got to any of the decisions about most of the final product I have a picture in the background of the badge with some changes such as the county name.

I don’t see the background image.
Also, which fonts are you using? If I don’t have the same font it will not look right.

I’m imagining the balls, ribbon & center section being the top of stock, with the lettering engraved.
The points of the star being slightly lower with the rays engraved.

Or the whole thing could be inset in the flag at the same height, with the details (letters, rays, outlines of the ribbon & center sections) engraved.

1 Like

Not sure why the image is not there I opened the file and it shows behind the one stater badge. I did us the same fonts for the letters which is basic rounded I have just not done the larger writing for North Carolina yet because I was frustrated but all of the other letters are same font.

Can you post the image here too. I can add it back in. Maybe it has to be on computer to load???

1 Like

Sheriff Badge
Here is the badge but the county name should be Stanly County I was not able to find one from that county.

It looks like you’re doing well so far. The big thing is deciding how you want it carved.
Areas that you want engraved/carved out will need closed vectors (black)