Diamond Drag Bit - 1st Cut

This is my first attempt with the Diamond Drag bit. This is an acrylic sheet. I used the standard settings for the 120* McEtcher. As you can tell, most of the project is flawless. However, there are some spots where it seemed as though the drag bit didn’t cut well. My gut tells me that the acrylic sheet probably wasn’t perfectly flat. Would that be the cause? If you zoom in to the picture, you can tell that the bit scratched the surface on the bare spots, just not as prominently as everywhere else. Any thoughts? Should I increase the DOC and let the spring tension do it’s job?

Have not used a drag bit yet. I do a bunch of Poly images with my bits. I have found that my baseboard must be flat. Real flat. Clamping can cause variations in poly as it warps under the clamps.

Reading other posts on the drag bits, I think if you increase the spring tension, you will have some areas deeper and some not as deep. Just shooting from the hip here.

Good Luck

As of right now, the spring tension is stock. The cutters were right out of the package. For work holding, I used double sided tape and went straight to the wasteboard. Maybe the super-glue/painters tape trick would be better as it would have less thickness?

Are you saying that I might should try increase or decrease the spring tension?

Thank you for your input!

Looking at your image, I see areas that are not being covered by the diamond. From reading previous posts, increasing the spring pressure will make it deeper. In that, it will catch those areas also. I would assume that it would cut the area that is lighter, less deep. What I saw might have be that your base board (spoil board) is not flat causing the issues your are seeing.

3 Likes

Appears to be an uneven surface, increasing the spring tension is not going to change the depth and will cut the etched areas deeper. It appears you already cut the piece out so doing another path deeper is not an option.