Double image / possible X or Z-axis issue PLEASE HELP

Good morning everyone,

This is my first post, so let me introduce myself. My name is Brian and I am new to the CNC world. I bought my shapeoko XXL a month ago and have learned a lot, however, I have also ran into some problems.

In addition to my shapeoko XXL I also have the bit setter, Z-Plus, and probe.

My biggest issue right now is double Imaging which I think has to do with my Z axis. I have probably burned through about $500 worth of would trying to fix this issue and I’m afraid I’ve ran into a dead end.

I have checked the machine mechanically by referring to a previous post and watching the following videos, however, the problem still exists:

​I have also double-check that the collet is correctly tightened and doesn’t slip . The router is also mounted securely and doesn’t shift.

I’ve also change the feeds and speeds dramatically but it still has the issue of double Imaging.

I would really appreciate any help that you guys might offer and I hope to hear from some of you soon .

Thank you!

1 Like

Please post a .c2d file, generated G-Code, and step-by-step notes on how you are securing your stock and setting zero relative to it.

Hi William,

Thank for looking into my issue. Here is the c2d file and G-Code:

CB TEST.c2d (1.1 MB)
CB TEST.nc (357.1 KB)

I created a custom threaded wasteboard and secure my stock to the wasteboard by using clamps and hex bolts. I set my zero with a Carbide 3D Touch Probe and Bit Setter.

taking a look at your files… but also in the mean time, the open source tool “camotics” and the website ncviewer.com are great ways to verify gcode (nc files)

2 Likes

can you maybe post a photo of a part of “double imaging” ?

1 Like

nice design btw

the retract height is set to a little over 0.1"… that’s way more than is needed if your wood is flat, and will add a lot to your cutting time