Double Sided Machining Using Optical Scanning?

I’m new to CNC so this might not be the best way to solve this problem, all comments and suggestions are welcome.

After watching the news about the Glowforge laser cutter and the build in camera I was thinking something similar should be possible to make for CNCs. Why is there so little data going back from the machine to the software? Everything is so one directional… The CAM controls the machine. What if the machine could tell something about the real world to the CAM software. Wouldn’t that make it easier?

I’m thinking having a 3D scanner/kinetic/camera/range finder mounted on each side of the machine directed towards your platform. The idea is that it should precise enough find your workpiece.

First step would be to 3D scan it. It should show up in the CAM software.

Second, in CAM you specify how you want to cut it and you cut the first side on the machine.

Third you flip the workpiece and rescan it.

In CAM you click that you have flipped it and the CAM software calulate what has been cut and what is left to cut.

You cut the final side.

As I see it the main problem would be to find a good enough scanner hardware that is still not super expensive, but with new cheaper tools like MS kinetic maybe it it possible.

Secondly, it would also need quite a lot of software, but nothing impossible.

I’m new to CNC so this might not be the best way to solve this problem, all comments and suggestions are welcome.

Welcome!

After watching the news about the Glowforge laser cutter and the build in camera I was thinking something similar should be possible to make for CNCs. Why is there so little data going back from the machine to the software? Everything is so one directional…

Because it’s expensive and adds little to nothing to industrial or volume production.

The CAM controls the machine. What if the machine could tell something about the real world to the CAM software. Wouldn’t that make it easier?