E Stop button. Is there any designs out there?

Hi!

Just a newbie here and looking to do a few changes to my machine. Mostly to a peace my OCD!

Has anyone designed an E stop for this machine? I see the board has a pin location for it but not sure if it is functional. I am in the process of making an enclosure for my XXL and was looking for ideas on a “PANIC” button I can quickly press when the inevitable screw up happens.

Thanks

1 Like

I used to try and make things like this, but not worth it and I didn’t do as good a job as buying them now. Amazon has many buttons for this job. I use two of theirs.

1 Like

The community had some notes on this sort of thing at: https://www.shapeoko.com/wiki/index.php/Emergency_Stop

but that page has since been deleted.

Best thing is arguably a paddle switch as is used for a power tool.

I was wondering if the E-stop pin site on the Carbide 3D board was usable. A powerstrip is probably the simplest solution but was curious if a simple switch connected to the E stop pins on the board would be a more elegant solution.

Thanks for the feedback!

My understanding is the E-stop pin is more of a feed-hold — see the documentation on the Stepoko on GitHub.

Although it stops motion, the E-Stop pin is, by default, connected to the reset. It will reset the controller and position will be lost. Unless you have your router wired into your controller, your router will not stop. Most cases probably only require a feed hold, but when things are going REALLY bad (fire, Z-axis falls off, etc) I’d want all power to be cut.

1 Like

I ran power to my table, with separate switched outlets for the controller and the spindle. I used two regular 15A switches positioned conveniently for quick shutdown. I’ve used them a few times now, and they work fine.

1 Like