Endmill Selection for Profile Cuts in Thin (1/8") Hardwoods

Hi everyone,

Newbie here, just have a few questions that I’ve been wondering about.

Background: Shapeoko 3 with Makita router (usually just left at ‘3’ on the speed dial) and Sweepy 2.0 connected to a shop vac/cyclone system. MDF wasteboard, using double-sided tape to secure workpieces.

I’m primarily needing to make profile/through cuts of small shapes (anywhere from 1/4" to 3" across) out of 1/8" thick sheets of various hardwoods (maple, wenge, padauk, bubinga, etc.)

Currently, I’m using up cut spiral bits (1/4" shank, 2-flute, flat nose, 1/8" flute diameter, 1/2" flute length), and generally just select the #326 endmill option in Carbide Create, which seems to work OK.

Question 1) Would I be better served by a different type/style of bit for the types of cuts I’m making? If so, what would you recommend?

Question 2) From what I’ve read, a down cut bit might be a superior option for my use case; if so, (assuming the flute diameter/flute length/number of flutes remains the same), would I need to change any of the feeds/speeds just by virtue of it being down cut vs the equivalent up cut bit?

Question 3) What is the advantage of using a 1/4" shank bit, vs. investing in a smaller collet and using 1/8" shank bits (both with 1/8" flute diameter)? I guess the 1/4" shank bits have a bit more rigidity/strength, but as I don’t need to cut material more than 1/8" thick, I’m wondering if I could save money by just using 1/8" shank bits if they will provide enough strength for the types of woods I’m cutting.

I’ve had good luck using 1/8" downcut endmills — the #46200-K in:

works really well, but is more expensive than most 1/8" endmills w/ a 1/8" shank, but maybe a bit more rigid, and convenient for tool changes when using other 1/4" shank endmills.

For 1/8" collets see:

https://shop.carbide3d.com/collections/accessories/products/precision-collets — they fit the Makita as well as our Carbide Compact Router