Engraving Script Fonts using Vee Carving

I have a Nomad, and am attempting to engrave some script fonts using a vee bit. I am a jeweler, so my work and the size of the font is fairly small. Here is my issue: I can get it to engrave, but as with many script fonts, there are parts that are narrow and parts that are thicker in each letter . My Nomad is engraving the entire letter as one thickness. What am I doing wrong???

You should use a V carve toolpath, that will allow more and finer detailing.

You may find that it’s worth investing in Vectric VCarve Desktop.

Hmmmm. I am using a V carve toolpath. I looked into the Vectric but I us a Mac.

I am using the feed and plunge rates suggested by the bit manufacturer. They are .005 dpp, 12" feed and 5" plunge. If the feeds are this fast, is it not giving the machine enough time to vary the depth to create differences in the width of the lines?? If so I could slow down the feed and decrease the plunge, if that might help?

What kind of bit is this? Is it a D type engraving bit? These really don’t work well for v-carving, especially with metals. Are you using single stroke script fonts, or truetype fonts? At really small sizes, single stroke fonts work a lot better with metal, and in particular with a D type v-bit. F-engrave does a great job with creating a toolpath for single stroke fonts. CC is ok with v-carving signs and such, but with tiny stuff on metal, really doesn’t do so well.

1 Like

Hi Will,
I am seriously considering the Vectric VCarve Desktop as you suggested. I installed Parallels desktop on my Mac so that I can run it. It appears that I have to use a “post processor” to be able to use the g-code in Carbide Motion. Could you please explain what this is, and what it entails?? Thank you!

A post-processor is a small piece of software which determines how the G-Code is exported from the software.

Vectric has included a post-processor for Grbl since v8.5