Everything can't be metal

Soooooo

Everything can’t be billet aluminum…let’s see what wood can do. Im a pure tree trainee and this should be fun. MRR alone is much much MUCH higher than metal so hopefully that will effect designs, complexity and quantities.

First up, Red Oak…because thats what Lowes carried in stock for “premium” stuff. Custom double side machines soap dishes to make gift packages with my gfs homemade natural soap bars.

First time using the sculpt environment in Fusion, its super easy to make ugly shapes in there so I kept it simple. Spheres to level the bar and a 2 degree slope to provide drainage, also the bottom is relieved with a few standoffs to limit soaking.

Next up are some mini tray concepts, really just practice for larger gifts but they fit and feel very good.

Everything finished with a double soak in boiled linseed oil (already had it). Kinda digging the natural look and with a small enough ball stepover, hardly any sanding!!

I really want to try metal inlays… soon

13 Likes

First picture I thought you were going to engrave the soap.
Awesome looking trays, and perfectly timed since my daughter was just asking if I could make a soap dish.

1 Like

welcome to the world of carbohydrate foam

5 Likes

@Radiation Ive been asked to engrave soap…its the work holding that’s tricky lol. Better to make a mold

@fenrus that’s an interesting way to put it. Still rocking the single flutes though!

2 Likes

I’ve never heard wood called “carbohydrate foam” before, but now I’ll never refer to it any other way again.

3 Likes

@Vince.Fab, I am curious to hear about your toolpath approach and feedrates, if you don’t mind! The finish is great!

2 Likes