Feature Request - Homing optional after probe failure

If probing fails because of misplacement of the bit or some other obvious user error, can we have an option of not sending the router to the home position?

3 Likes

The downside is that if you made an error that changes the endmill length of made a stepper skip steps, than your position is now off. That could cause a crash, damage your work piece, break an endmill, etc.

1 Like

I’m not really following what you’re saying.

If I’m using my BitZero to probe, 100% of the time I have had an error occur is because I either had the bit too far from the BitZero or the wire with the clip came off the bit (or wasn’t attached in the first place). I don’t see where any of these conditions requires the Shapeoko to be reinitialized and sent to the home position. It would be great we just had an option when the probing error popup occurs to initialize or not.

Then again, I’m new at this and may be missing something.

1 Like

I’ve had moments of forgetfulness when I didn’t put my ground on the endmill. When that happens, the stepper will drive it into the top and start shipping steps. The machine doesn’t know it skipped. So unless the machine re-initializes, it will be off by how much it skipped. Re-homing resets the machine to knowing where it is again. :slight_smile:

1 Like

I didn’t know that. Thanks for that information.

Maybe it would be nice to have a button on the screen to stop the probe if you started it and you know it is going to fail. I’ve had that situation before too. All I could do was wait for a collision or the probe to timeout.

1 Like

That can happen…

… but if your a little too high above a BitZero when you hit probe, you basically have to reset the machine and load in the gcode file you were working with.

An dialog asking if your want to rehome on probe failure, or try again, would be a fine solution.

1 Like