First post. Newbie questions

Greetings. I am a hobbyist and have just ordered (but not received) a Shapeoko Pro XXL. I have two questions to start off my endless list of them:

1. I plan to build my own stand for the machine and would like to get started before it arrives. What table top dimensions have worked for you?
  2. I am looking at the confusing array of CAD software options out there. I would like software that can create a 3d portrait from a scanned 2d image. I would also like it to be able to arrange pieces from a project (e.g. a jewelry box) flat for cutout and to maximize material use.

Can Carbide Create Pro do these things? If not, are there other software options that do? What do you all use for your CAD needs?

Thank you!

Dimensions are on the web site at carbide3d.com.

• Footprint: 50" (X), 42" (Y), 19" (Z)

Hope this helps. This is what I used to prebuild mine.

1 Like

foot print question…The dims on my table top are actually square ith the foot print of the machine, however, I have an extra two feet on each side so that i can slide bigger pieces over if needed when carving.

@Carl - will you be enclosing the cnc? If so, you need to leave a bigger footprint because the walls need to attach (mine is 52” x 49” and I wish I was an extra 1 or 2 inches wider. Note that when the sweepy is attached to the router the unit will go beyond the footprint and hit the front glass doors if the unit is not deep enough.

My suggestion is to troll the pages on this forum and look for the table/enclosure style you like best, then post a link and ask for the measurements, source, etc

On another note - there is a great how to guide in torsion table tops - the pdf file is available on this link Torsion box ( long winded) - #2 by gdon_2003

One key: when the majority of people built/made tables lumber was at reasonable prices. Right now, sheet goods are crazy expensive. It might make economical sense buying two standard tables and hooking them together

1 Like