First Project, coasters

Hello everyone, I am starting my first project on the Shapeoko CNC. I am new to the CNC world and successfully completed my “Hello World” test yesterday. I am currently working on my first project- coasters. I have been watching videos on youtube, and using Carbide’s coaster project intro (Coaster Project - Carbide 3D). I am currently having an issue. On my project, I am trying to replicate the 82nd Airborne Division Patch. When I attempt to pocket the AIRBORNE letters, they become distorted or do not populate. Has anyone seen this issue, or have any tips for recommendation? I have provided a screen shot for reference.

If possible, uploading the project file in the future will help us see what is going on.

In your case, I would guess that the bit you want to use is simply too big for the letters, and so is skipping all the areas that it doesn’t fit. This kind of case is perfect for doing a VCarve.

2 Likes

Likely the tool selected is too large for the toolpath. Try using a smaller tool. If a vee cut then try a 15 degree vee bit. As @mhotchin post your file for more help.

Thanks for the reply. I have attached the file. I am still trying to learn how bits and cuts work.
Can someone please explain a V Carve? From the provided Carbide text I understood the following:
There are 4 types of toolpaths to choose from:

• Inside Cut - puts the cutter on the inside of the feature
  • Outside Cut - puts the cutter on the outside of the feature
  • Pocket - clears everything INSIDE of the feature selected.
  • No Offset - cuts directly on the line

Can you point me to a reference for proper bits and sizing? I have been looking at bits from Lowes and Harbor Freight. I am open to suggestions and brands.

82D ABN Coasters.c2d (128 KB)

A VCarve uses (not surprisingly) a V bit. The thing about V bits is that depending on how deep they run, the path they carve can be wider or narrower.