Flatness Counts with Intricate Designs

I purchased my Shapeoko 4 during the 2021 Thanksgiving sale. I am a hobbyist and do quite a bit of furniture building too. However, I’ve gotten into designs with V Carve that can be filled by colored epoxy. I was carving a border this week, and the depth wasn’t consistent in the V carve. I am using Carbide Create Software v7. At first, I blamed my bit zero. Then I checked my router mount, no issues. I know my spoil board is flat.

Then it hit me…my maple board glued up out of two pretty flat pieces of maple was NOT perfectly flat. So my V Carve at 0.200 inches deep was inconsistent to the point it made a difference. Once I clamped it using my (free) Workholding kit from the T-giving sale, the problem was solved! Lesson learned! And such an easy thing to overlook.

Start with the simple things when troubleshooting, the Shapeoko is so accurate it likely is not the machine if it’s set up well.

2 Likes

Glue ups are never flat. I run mine through the planner after glue up on both sides. One thing that helps during glue up is alternating clamps on the top and bottom. Also on the edge of the boards where they meet an F clamp keeps them from moving around during clamping.

So rub the board together to get the sticktion going and put the F clamps on moderately tight. Then tighten up your clamps moderately. Check the flatness and if necessary loosen the clamps and start over. After the board is flat tighten up the F clamps and then the clamps on the board. Do not give a gorilla tightness on the clamps. Doing that squeezes out the glue and gives you a weak bond. Tighten the clamps but do not give it all you have.