Fusion 360 Assistance

*If I should be posting to a separate category please let me know

Hello guys-

I have been using a Shapeoko XXL for about 2 years now and exclusively used carbide create for every project. I am not a business so I found no reason to spend lots of money on software since I would seldom need the benefits of them. Now that I am comfortable with using my cnc I wanted to dabble a little with a 3d design and since my family loves golf we decided to design and mill out a putter.

I was searching for free 3d design software and downloaded Fusion 360 for personal use and designed a golf putter. I milled it out of aluminum for the first run to see how it worked. I felt the first side went acceptable and I felt with some little tweaks I could get the machining finish down a little better. My problem was when I flipped the piece to do the bottom side of the putter there was not enough surface for my double sided tape and thus the piece came loose and was ruined. I wanted to add tabs into the design to hold the piece so I could use the extra space to clamp down the material. I was not able to do this for the first run because the block of aluminum I had was exactly the size of the putter that was needed. I plan on buying a little longer piece of aluminum next time and utilize tabs.

My question is how would I add tabs in Fusion 360? I have tried to watch several videos but cant seem to figure it out. I designed a hollow box around the putter but also cant seem to get them to align. I want to add a tab on each end of the putter (Toe and Heel if you know golf equipment).

The other thing I need to do is center the putter in the entire box. I plan on just resizing the outer box based upon material size so that the putter is always centered and accurately cut. I can then flip the piece over and clamp it down again to mill the bottom knowing it will be centered in the same place.