Garage temperature

I just got my first Nomad and am going to put it in my garage. I live in the Windy City that is super cold during winter. Is it safe to put my nomad in low temperature? What should be the best temp range for the Nomad to be in?

Thank you,
Candi Orlando

1 Like

A few weeks ago it was terribly cold around the country and people were reporting issues with their Shapeoko machines having homing issues and slow moving machines causing loss of steps on the belt driven machines. One person speculated that the grease in the ball bearings on his machine had frozen. The good news was once their shops were heated up or the cold wave was over the machines went back to normal.

I have been woodworking for 50 years and spent 50 winters in Texas working in the garage. Now the Texas cold winter is nothing compared to Chicago but for me it is miserable. I have been to Chicago in the winter and working in the deep freeze that Chicago can become would be unbearable for me. With the cost of energy going up it may not be feasible to heat a garage/workshop up to a comfortable temperature going forward so please consider that.

As far as the machine goes it can stand the cold weather just sitting there. Using the machine during the extreme cold is another thing. The Nomad is small enough that you could store it in the house if you wanted and maybe even run if you have dust collection. There are people around the world that run their CNC machines inside apartments. For health and safety that might be a bad idea but it is something that can be done with proper precautions and good dust extraction. A CNC makes a terrible mess when cutting wood or metal.