Guitar making question linking here as well

I am not a guitar player but I have bought a lot of guitars for my grandson an have made 2 for other people.

I was an electronic technician for 40 years and have helped my grandson modify guitars.

Most guitar players tend to like a certain guitar sound or action like a stratocaster, telecaster, Les Paul or a thousand other types. So first decide what type of guitar and pickups you want to have. If you are building a guitar to learn pick the genre of music you like and a guitar of your favorite guitar hero.

There are a lot of kits available with wiring, pickups and tuners. Try stewmac.com or there a lot of other guitar parts suppliers. But most importantly have in mind what kind of guitar you want to make and proceed from there.

4 Likes

Thank you @gdon_2003 I have decided on the telecaster model definitely double sided and plan on making the neck as well. Do you have any direct links to what your son uses as far as pickups ect? I am trying to make this as a surprise. Thank you for the link as well, the variations of prices is what I dont understand the most…I want something basic that is not overpriced but still good if that exists? He will probably upgrade and update but dont want to do just body neck and fretboard i would rather have a functional guitar at the end.

1 Like

Perhaps more experienced guitar builders can chime in. However there are several sites that carry parts for a Gibson Telecaster.

https://www.sweetwater.com/store/search?s=telecaster+parts

3 Likes

If you are looking at modeling the electronics as close to the configuration as what Fender uses on the Telecaster I would suggest going to their site and see what they have listed. They have several different models of the Telecaster with different humbucker pickups that produce a differing sound, but I think you can come up with something you want to add to you make.

All Telecaster Guitars | Fender Electric Guitars

2 Likes