Help! I'm STUCK - literally

Hi all,

I am new to my Shapeoko XL cnc machine, which was previously built by someone else before I purchased it off of them. I have run several successful carvings - up until now. I have NEVER had these issues before, and the machine has always behaved. Now I’m dead in the water.

I wanted to create a square on my waste board to outline the boundaries of what I was about to cut, which is a 19x12 piece of hardwood. So I created a square carving pattern in carbide create, size 21x14. I loaded it into Carbide Motion, hit center, zeroed the x,y,and z , then ran the program. Everything was going fine until it started cutting towards the top of the machine, and it hit its y axis limit. Still not sure how that happened, but it started grinding, with the bit slightly in the wood. I hit the pause buttom, and the bit started going DOWN into the wood further! I turned the machine off with the kill switch. I turned on the machine again, and went to initialize it, and it started moving down again! I shut it off again.

So here I am, stuck with my 1/8 end mill in my waste board, and every time I try to initialize the machine, it buries the bit further in. I am wondering if triggering the y axis limit switch did this? Or if something is stuck?

So now I need to get the bit out of the waste board by raising it out, but can’t with Carbide Motion without initializing the machine, which drives the bit further in.

Thank you in advance!

Nick

Hi @nmkiriazis,

let’s get the cutter out of there first. With power turned off, are you able to manually turn the leadscrew with your fingers? (assuming you have a Z-plus or HDZ? With a belt-driven z you should just be able to pull it up manually)

if not, you could do this to pull up the router:

• power on the machine, connect to cutter, but do NOT “initialize machine”
  • go to the MDI tab, and send those commands in that order:

$X (and “SEND”)
G21 (and “SEND”)
G91G0Z1 (and “SEND”)