Help with Surface Planing a wood slab

im new to CNC , i need some help on how to do a surfacing / planing a wood slab on the shapeoko pro

using a bottom cleaning 1-1/2 bit, with CC im only able to use offset/climb , i need a raster option

i tried Vcarve trial . carveco maker and freecad , didnt manage to make a working toolpath

please help or direct me to a good video

Hi Warmage, when I surface a piece of wood, I enter the dimensions of the workpiece in the design tab of CC and then make a square. Then I go to the toolpath tab, select the square and make a pocket with a .03 depth of cut and a stepover of 1in since you have a 1.5 in surfacing endmill. For the first try, I’d be even more conservative and make the DoC more shallow until you get a feel for your work environment.

Some pics for reference:

Pocket Toolpath
Edit Tool
Stepover and Depth per Pass

NOTE - I’m pretty new at this too, so you may want to wait until someone with more experience chimes in…

3 Likes

I do the same thing in terms of making very shallow passes until the entire surface. Then I will do one more pass with a very small stepover so I don’t have to sand at all. Then I can flip it over and to the same to the other side or surface down to my desired thickness.

2 Likes

i did try that , but that will still start from middle of the board and plunge the full 1-1/2 bit in the board

is there a way to make it start from out side the board and go in ?

edit : and that still will not clear all the board all corners will be left out

CC does not support raster toolpaths currently.

One possible workaround is what @WillAdams mentioned in this post, manually creating the raster path as an open vector, and using a contour toolpath. A bit tedious, but you then have full control, can start the toolpath away from the stock edge, etc…

5 Likes

I feel stupid now, why didnt i think of that.

Whats the easy way to position the bit for this method