Help- XXL Losing tracking?

I’m still a newbie as far as the CnC world goes. I had several solid passes with my XXL today, and then tried to cut a little deeper track, with the stars. Nothing changes but the depth. Then out of the blue, the router shifted and I started getting double stars. So I flipped the board over and stared over. This time I had the proper cut depth set, but the machine shifted again and started routing the stars off alignment.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. And damn, flame maple is expensive to keep doing this. I don’t trust my Shapeoko now.

9 time out of 10 is a loose belt. Cuts that shallow shouldn’t cause them due to trying to remove too much.

1 Like

Lost steps. Please check the machine mechanically.

Per the machine operating checklist: Machine Operating Checklist - Carbide 3D , the basic points of adjustment for a machine are:

Beyond that it’s usually a matter of ​calibration and squaring the machine c.f., Shapeoko 3 Squaring, Tramming, and Calibration Essentials - #159 - YouTube and Basic Shapeoko 3 Tuning: Squaring, Spindle Tramming, & More - YouTube and http://docs.carbide3d.com/shapeoko-faq/how-to-calibrate-the-machine-for-belt-stretch/

4 Likes

You defenitely have a mechanical issue. In the first picture it has been since 1912 that we had 47 states. The other two pictures your problem is getting worse. Like Will said check your pulley set screws that at least one of them is over a flat spot. Some people replace those set screws with 10MM long cap screws. It is easier to tighten them and not strip them with the tiny allen wrench used for the stock ones.

Roll your gantry with the power off front to back and side to side to the limits. Do not move too fast or you will get Electromotive Force that sounds like a belt slipping. If you laptop or computer is hooked up to the powered off machine you may hear the windows sound for a device connecting and then unconnecting.