Hide/Show drill down pockets and tool paths

Hello,

Im new to CNC so excuse my naivety.
I know itd take more resource, and I love the light, fast, attitude of Carbide Create, Build 43. But, it would be nice to hide/show tool pths during the design mode. I find that when I need to create overlapping geometry for overlapping tool paths, I often check and recheck, edit and re-edit the geometries to match according to different tools. Sure, calculating diameters in my head helps.

My most common annoyance is when I create a shape with many points smaller than #101, 1/8" pointing into my geometry like as in a comb. Or a pocket shaped like a 7 pointed star. I rough the main shape with 101, then clean up the points with a 112. Knowing where the 101 limit is into the vertex would make drawing the 112 geometry much easier. I work a lot of free forms, so copying the small pockets isnt always possible.

Put them in groups and enable / disable them?

2 Likes

Lastly, It would be nice to see where the drill down points are more clearly, instead of just in sim mode. If I could toggle the paths in design mode, I could build a design with shorter tools times, knowing where my cutters will drop allow me to make pockets to final depth before running long runs with depths of +1" to clear. Ive found that with final depth pockets, I can increase all of my drop speeds, decreasing machine time by up to 30%.

Maybe not a biggie, Im learning to intuitively know where they are going to be, (ie bottom left corner) but always check the sim to make sure

Hide/Show all in Design mode would be chaotic for intricate designs, maybe a right click option for a geometry?

Can’t you group the Toolpaths into suitable groups to show/hide?

1 Like