How Can I Cut This Shape? (I'm a Newbie)

Hello. I am researching how to create this arc on my products. It is a very popular feature in my industry. Would I want to use an angled bit? We’ve been doing this by hand for years, so it does not need to be cut perfectly. We can sand or tumble to remove burrs and imperfections.

This workpiece is only about 30 long, roughly 1.25 inches.

Thanks in advance for any ideas or suggestions you may have. RS

A ball nose or ball end bit will cut that rounded bevel on the guitar pick. Use a very small step over and it will leave only a little sanding.

I’m purty sure that a ball end cutter will cut the curved end the wrong way; concave vs. convex.

An angle bit would give you a flat edge. This edge looks round in the photo.

Its hard to tell the proportions from your photo, but it might be possible to get a small roundover bit in the cutout pass for the outline. I can see where a fixture would be necessary since it looks quite thin, but it would be a consistent curve.

How are you cutting these out now?

Are those guitar picks?

Depending on the angles, shapes etc. this would have to be a 3D toolpath. I think that is what Ensalaco meant. The drawback is that it will take a lot longer than if you could cut it with a form-tool. But of course the drawback of the form-tool is that it only can cut one shape. Maybe you can tweak your toolpaths to use a round-over form tool on some parts and a chamfering bit on others. Then sand the transition over.

2 Likes

Maybe the entire profile with this.
Followed by one side using this. 3D path needed.
And the opposite side using this. 3D path needed.
I know thats a lot of tool changes but if you are setting up for production and have a good number of picks per sheet, it might make sense.