How do I program a roughing tool then a finish tool

I am new to Shapeoko and carbide create. I have a Shapeoko 5 pro 4x4 and I’m using Carbide Create to program everything.
I am a guitar builder and I’m using the 5 Pro to cut logos for my headstock face. I am trying to cut a pocket for the logo abalone inlay. How do I program a roughing tool of .046, then a finish pass with a .020 tool?

There are several ways. How much rough stock do you want to leave for the finish cut?

One way is to offset the geometry for the rough path by the amount you want to leave, and use that offset vector for the rough path.

Another way is to create a roughing tool and add the rough stock to the tool radius. So if you want 0.002" stock, and your tool is 0.046, you make a 0.050 tool to create the program, but load the 0.046 tool in the machine.

1 Like

Thanks for the quick response!

This is a traced image of my logo, so I don’t know that I can offset the geometry.

Pardon my Ignorance, but I’m new to the terminology also.

The .046 tool is cutting good enough that I don’t really need to leave stock for a finish pass, but the logo is intricate enough that I need the .020 tool to go where the .046 tool can’t. As you can image, If I use the .020 to cut the entire logo, it breaks the tool. Therefore, I need to cut the majority with the .046 then do a tool change to .020 to finish it. I was thinking if I could rough then do a finish pass, the .020 would only have minimal run time.

I have absolutely no Idea of how to begin. Is this programed in tool path with 3D Rough and 3D Finish?

Ah, OK. Then you are not really “roughing”, you are cutting a finish pass with the larger tool, and another finish pass with the smaller tool.

If the widest area in your logo is 0.092" or less, then you can contour the first pass. If it’s wider you would want to pocket so you remove all of the material.