How much finishing required for wood/acrylic

Hey there. I’ve just purchased the Pro, for delivery whenever. I’m totally new to this technology, but have no doubt I can figure it out. A question…Assume I’m cutting a circle out of 1/2" walnut, with a shallow well in the centre. How much finishing can I expect to do? Will it look really rough when the unit is done with it? I don’t care about speed, so I can use whatever settings will get me the smoothest. Then my question becomes - what is best to do quick finishing with? I make miniature silver sculpture, so I have electric finishing tools…I’ve just never had to finish wood. I have no desire to hand sand. Same question if I cut a circle out of acrylic. Will the edges be rough?

Thanks so much.

Sue

A CNC machine like the Nomad is accurate and precise to 0.001" (one thousandth of an inch). The machine far exceeds what conventional wood working expects.

When one machines, the most common approach is to rough (cut away quickly) most of the material that needs to be removed. The roughing will leave a little bit of material to cover the shape that one wants when the works is done.

The depth of the layer left after the roughing is set to ensure that the fast cutting never damages (touches/tears/gouges) the surface of the ideal object embedded within. We’re talking 0.010" or less.

One then finishes - go slowly, careful, and with great concern about the finish - the object, removing the small amount of material that the roughing left. Obtaining the finest finish doesn’t necessarily mean going really slow… just (much) slower than roughing. With care - often by performing some experiments (what we call feeds and speeds tests) - the finish will be pretty darned good for a nice block of hardwood.