How to double the speed of my V-Bit?

Once a year I attempt to get my boat anchor (a/k/a Nomad 883 Pro) to work. I’m definitely getting closer. I bought mine to cut and engrave metal and I’m starting with 360 brass first. I think I have acceptable feeds & speeds for the 1/8" and 1/16" endmills and now I’m trying to find acceptable settings for a 30 degree v-bit.

The settings I currently use do work…however, for a 1" x 0.5" area that is 0.1" deep it takes about 4 hours. Ideally, I would like to cut that time in half.

If you haven’t read any of my previous posts…I’m a complete newbie to CNCing. I’m using both Carbide Create and Carbide Motion.

Here are the current settings that I am using for the 30 degree V-bit:

Retract Height - 4mm
Diameter - 0.25"
Flutes - 2
Flute Length - 0.5"
Angle - 30
Feed - 50 ipm
DOC - 0.003"
RPM - 10,000
Stepover - 0.008
Plunge - 10

Does anyone have any suggestions and to which parameters I should change and what it should be changed to in order to significantly increase the speed to get the job done?

Thanks!

your retract height is very very high… 1mm is more likely a better answer.

in vcarving retract height becomes dominating at times…

5 Likes

Thanks for that tip Arjan…it cut the time from 4 hours down to 3 1/2 hours.

Can I simply double my Feed Rate to 100? If I do that do I need to adjust any of the other settings? Or should I double to DOC to 0.006 instead? Or should I double both the Feed Rate and the DOC?

The theory is like so: