How to hold this in place

So I am trying to machine the following piece of wood using an STL file. Part of this will be cut all the way down to the wasteboard.

The problem is I am not sure how to secure it as tape did not work and it almost threw the piece and clamps will get hit by the cutting bit…

I have never done CNC before so I am really not sure how to secure the material down to the wasteboard

The most common solution for these sorts of problems is… well, kind of annoying. It’s multiple operations.

Basically you hold your work with your clamps in a specific place and machine around them.
Then figure out the best way to hold your partially machined piece so you can move your clamps and machine where they were previously.

There’s about a million ways to do fixturing and entire books dedicated to it. It’s something you’re always learning and improving on.

Good luck on your journey!

Edit: also sharing a picture of your stl will help others in coming up with the best approach.

What kind of tape are you using? I have found that woodworking double-sided tape is very tenacious, and the only time I had problems with it is because the spoilboard was ‘fuzzy’, so the tape wasn’t bonding properly to the board.

You could clamp a larger, fairly thin piece of material to the wasteboard, then use double-sided tape to fasten your stock to that.

Also, do you have access to other tools, like a table-saw? You could use a piece of stick that’s about an inch bigger both ways, clamp on the excess, machine away centered on the larger stock, then cut away the excess later. This assumes the excess will not be separated by your design.

1 Like

Painter’s tape and super glue sandwich. Plenty of videos available. Basically tape spoil board, tape underside of wood. Place glue on non sticky side of tape and press them together. Carve. It works for me, although I will say that I prefer cutting through with clamps and tabs. Sometimes you need to tape, though.