How to locate existing part to engrave

Hi,

I’m completely new to the world of CNC and looking at purchasing a Nomad 3.

In most of the videos I’ve seen of people using these CNC machines, people are taking a big lump or sheet of material and carving the full part from that. But what if I have an existing part (some aluminium hex bar stock in my case) that I want to perform some operations on? How do I go about “locating” that part so that the machine knows exactly where to start cutting and what orientation the part is in etc.

Is it a case of lining the part up with the X or Y orientation of the bed as accurately as I can with an engineers square and also measuring the distance to the first cut and including that offset in the CAM program? Or is there a more sophisticated and automated way of handling this?

Thanks

For odd shapes, I’ve found it most expedient to machine a fixture w/ a pocket to place the part in.

Forgive my stupidity but how exactly does that help? Do you make some kind of marking on that jig that you always set the machine to zero on so you can use that as a reference for the cuts?

In my case the part isn’t really an odd shape as its perfectly straight down one axis (see image), so would you just line that up with one axis of the bed as best as you could with a square or something?

To line it up accurately, attach a piece of (for example) mdf to the wasteboard, then use the machine itself to create an accurate edge you can place the item against.

For this case, I would create a low, long ‘L’ shape, so you can push the item into the corner.

Now, in your design program, create a simple representation of the object. Lets assume the lower left will be the X-Y zero (ie, the inside corner of the ‘L’). In this case, I would use a rectangle, and place the rectangle so the lower left corner of the rectangle is at X-Y zero. Create your design using the rectangle as a reference for placing the desgn and operations.