I think I used the Drill toolpath incorrectly

I’m attempting my first project past making circles, squares and writing my name. I have had a Shaper Origin for a couple of years so I’m not a total newbie to CNC.

My project is a French cleat fixture for all my bits. It has two shelves with through holes for the 1/8, 1/4, and 8 mm bits in my collection. Also has partial depth holes to hold 3/8 in dowels below the through holes for the bits to rest on. The holes for the bits are through to try to keep sawdust from building up.

Anyway, I specified the various hole sizes plus a little fudge factor in my design and used the Drill toolpath but what I got was just a bunch of straight holes drilling with the 1/8 bit.

Should I have used another toolpath, say a pocket for each of the holes? What exactly is the purpose of the Drill toolpath?

Thanks
Mike.

The Drill toolpath is intended to allow the machine to plunge with the selected tool without any side-to-side movement — it makes a hole the size of the tool used (plus any deflection/runout) and does not consider the dimensions of the geometry.

If you have geometry which you want to be cut at its size, then use a Pocket or Contour toolpath.

See:

1 Like

As @WillAdams said it is a straight plunge or peck drilling. So if your router bit is smaller than the hole you are making just do a pocket. CC has changed because in the old days making a .25" hole with a .25" bit was a no go so you just make the pocket .26" and it would work. So if your bit is the same size as the hole increase the circle a little and you can just pocket it to the depth you want.

Just remember if you work in inch it is then transslated into metric. When that happens there can rounding errors in the conversion and not make exactly what you intend. Usually it is only a few thousands off but for a french cleat in wood it wont matter. However if trying to make precision holes in alum then use metric to eliminate the rounding errors.

1 Like