Improving Aluminum Finish

I am new to CNCing and to the Shapeoko community and wondering if anyone could share some tips on how to achieve a better surface finish on aluminum parts. I have seen posts of guys like @Brasch, @Vince.Fab, and @Able getting parts off of their HDM with an incredible finish. I’m running an S5P and Saunders machine works fixture plate with mod vices. I use Fusion 360 for CAD/CAM. Datron single flutes and SpeTool single and 3 flutes have been my go-to so far. Any help is much appreciated!!!

Share some screen shots of your milling tool paths and feeds. The key for a good finish is leaving some extra stock like .005" on the floor and walls with the stock to leave box when roughing and then come back with a finishing pass.

I do my floor finishing pass first staying .005 away from the wall and then come in and do my wall finishing staying .001 above the floor. This gives me the best finish.

3 Likes

I have also reduced my accelerations in order to improve floor finishes.

1 Like

@Able Ok, I see. So do you create another toolpath to come back in with rest machining and smaller stepover/DOC to finish the stock removal? Here are some screenshots of the adaptive.

@nwallace Do you do this in Carbide Motion?

I haven’t used Carbide Motion or GRBL in a long time. I believe there is an MDI available where you can send commands to the machine. You would just edit the GRBL acceleration settings for each axis. I can’t remember what parameters they are off the top of my head. I saw a decent improvement by dropping them by 20%.

First off, great result for being new to it. :slight_smile: