iPhone Case – Fourth Project, Flat and Sticky

First a disclaimer: I have no CNC or CAD experience, my kid is taking Engineering classes in high school and does have some basic CAD training, but for the most part we are flying blind. These posts are probably meaningless to those that have experience. However for those that are new to this maybe these posts will help you.

Now for our 4th project, so much to cover as we have learned a lot. If you have teenage kids you know their mobile phone is VERY important to them, Dallas decided the 4th project is to make an iPhone case from wood. Dallas has been working on this project for a couple weeks. So far 7 different iPhone cases have been made and we’ve learned something new with each case.

Prototypes #1 and #2 turned out ok, but they had an odd problem in that they were not flat/level.

This turned into another discussion that suggested our waste board was not level. Using Carbide Motion we measured the Z axis at 16 different places on our waste board and found that there was a 1.88mm difference between the lowest point and the highest point. This was almost the exact variance we measured in the thickness of the top of the iPhone case vs the thickness of the bottom of the iPhone case.

What Dallas did to fix this was to mill off 2mm from the top of the surface. To do this the Carbide Motion was zeroed to the lower left X and Y axis (as per usual), but the Z axis was set to the highest measured value. The Nomad then milled down 2mm, which left us with a flat surface.

So for those new to CNC, CAD or Nomad. I would suggest that THIS be the first project, delay making the wrench for your second project because that project will work better if you start with a level surface. And you will want to go through this same process every time to change the waste board.