Iron machining - What kind of Iron / settings / endmills?

Hey,

Has anyone ever tried machining Cast iron with the Nomad ?
If yes, what kind of settings ? And what kind of Iron ?

I believe it’ll be pretty much the same as steel, so rather take it slow, and do you need coolant or oil ?

Reason that I would do iron instead of steel or aluminium is the price.

I’m very new to the CNC world and even mechanics in general, so any advise is really usefull when it comes to Iron machining!

Thanks!

Not tried it, but I don’t think that you will have much success here. Just not enough torque. Additionally, most CI is MESSY. And the dust eats machinery.

If you try it, no liquid coolants. They increase the mess and form a slurry that eats tooling. Makes a decent lapping paste, though. On the lathe, shaper, and full size mill, I use a suction line at the work point to get the dust, and only when needed, an air nozzle for cooling. For the purposes of edged tool machining, CI is brittle and self lubricating.

Even with HEPA dust collection and a mask, you will probably have black snot for days.

2 Likes

Rather than cast iron, most folks just use mild steel where cast iron would have been used in the past — is there a reason mild steel is not an option here? We do have feeds and speeds for some steel alloys — so long as you select one with good machining characteristics it should be workable, albeit slow, with low material removal rate and tooling engagement.

Well, I’m still considering with which materials I want to go for a simple custom made object in series.

The material shouldn’t bend or warp below 300°C for a short time, aluminum seemed to be the best, but the price of the material makes it less interesting. Iron Cast seemed the cheapest option, I wasn’t aware about mild steel, I’ll take a look thanks!