Is Carbide Create having problems

Hello all,

I am so frustrated. I spent countless ours the last couple days designing my first cuts. I saved two that were finished in a gcode file but the others that I was working on I saved in carbide create and they are now gone. They never disappeared before but my carbide create file is now empty and they are no where to be found. URG I am so crazy frustrated about this. Never had this problem with other programs and the words I want to use due to my frustrations I cannot. Any help would be appreciated.

Jennifer T

Yes Carbide Create has limitations and some bugs but it is an easy program to get you going. I’m still new at this and I upgraded to VCarve Pro. One thing that you have to be aware of and has to do with the two types of files. One saves the whole project while the other saves the GCode only. If you save the GCode and not the file, you will not be able to re-open the project. If you save only the file, you will not be able to produce your project on the Shapeoko. This is inherent to all the CAD/CAM software. Unfortunately, one of the issue with Carbide Create is that contrary to most program, it will let you shut the program without saving if you have made changes to the project. The Save and Save As menu bar items are orange to indicate that changes have not been saved but it does not give you a message saying the file has been change do you want to save it before quitting or closing the project.

1 Like

If you have a G-Code file, but no .c2d file, you can use G-Code Ripper from Scorchworks to recover the toolpaths as geometry: http://scorchworks.com/Gcoderipper/g_code_ripper_doc.html

2 Likes

Unfortunately, it does not appear to save an SVG, just a DXF and CSV that you can’t open in CC.

I’ve been looking for a GCode to SVG converter and could not find one. I would think that compared to a DXF, it would be relatively easy to program such a thing.