Just received my HDM and hello to everyone!

Hello everyone! I figured I’d make my first post here now that I’m an official HDM owner. I’ve honestly never owned a CNC before this and I went down a very deep rabbit hole of CNC machines before ultimately deciding on the HDM.

Like many others before me I seriously considered some other competitors like the Stepcraft and X-Carve. After falling in love with this community and seeing what the HDM is capable of I am confident that I made the right choice for my needs.

I am a racing driver at heart that loves nothing more than amazing engineering on cars. The purpose of this HDM for me is to create custom aluminum parts for me and my fellow racers. I plan to start out with wood as I’d like to make some carbon fiber molds before stepping up to aluminum and playing with that.

I know I have an incredible amount to learn and I’m excited to be apart of an amazing community and support system.

I’m still working on getting my machine fully setup and configured.(As well as a better table solution) In the mean time what’s everyone’s recommendations on lifting the machine by yourself? :rofl: I have an engine hoist I was considering using to try and hoist the machine up via the recommended lift points.

What has everyone else done?

5 Likes

Welcome VedemXCIX (John). I am also new to CNC, I have the Shapeoko Pro and have so far just done some simple projects, but plan on machining some aluminum for some wood working tools. Been a learning curve for me, but well worth it. At some point I hope to support my hobby with some revenue, but for now it’s time to learn!

2 Likes

My son & I lifted the machine onto the bench from the pallet on the floor.
How did you get it on the bench where it is now? If you can use the same method to place the pallet next to the bench, you can slide the machine off the pallet onto the bench.