Kinetic Sculptures

Just saw this video and was blown away. Very inspiring. Had to share:

A self-taught artist with a background in physics, David C. Roy has been creating mesmerizing wooden kinetic sculptures for nearly 40 years. Powered solely through mechanical wind-up mechanisms, pieces can run up to 48 hours on a single wind.

9 Likes

Mind blowing! Thanks for sharing

2 Likes

Yep, his stuff is fantastic, many years work to get to that level.

I found out about his sculptures seven years ago, wanted to buy one, but no international shipping.
Guess that the sculptures might not endure the trip.

And now I wonder if there are kinetic sculptures parts CNC plans for purchase somewhere. It would be fun to make a (simpler) one on the Shapeoko, but I guess the outcome would likely be “mmh, so that’s why it took this guy fourty years to master his craft…”.

5 Likes

Or worse, “mmmh, wouldn’t this be even better with some motors and a controller board…” :cowboy_hat_face:

5 Likes

I have been admiring those creations for quite a while and wish I could afford giant one.

1 Like

Just make a wind powered version. If the Florida summer storms were not so insane with 50+ mph wind I would kill to own one.

It’s rated for 90 mph but the amount of flying debris here would murder it.

2 Likes

Challenge #25, perhaps?

1 Like

Or even worse, "Hell, they sell those on eBay for $25, and I’ll have one here tomorrow! :wink: "

2 Likes

Willing to bet you that within a week you’d have found the cheap eBay $25 one didn’t work properly and had started making better replacement parts on your Shapeoko :cowboy_hat_face:

1 Like

And the first ten lines of David C. Roy’s website mention exactly that. Some people apparently received “wood scraps”, lol.

2 Likes

This gentleman also does kinetic sculptures, and sells plans, with DXF format available.

https://www.derekhugger.com/

6 Likes

The Angels said “how much creativity should me give him” and God answered yes!!