Last Cut Went Crazy

Hi Guys.

Was practicing a shop sign on an old piece of scrap pine. 98% of job went fine. On the last border cut the router descended so far it went into my waste board and almost got the aluminum rails. Any ideas? The board was 0.68 inches deep and the last cut was only set to 0.18 inches deep. Insites? I’m new at this so not sure what the heck went wrong.

Post the file?

Were you cutting a slot just as narrow as the tool? Where possible, avoid that — cut as a pocket down to tab height or the penultimate pass.

Yes, I was just cutting a slot equal to the width of the cutter. Avoid that? I will cut as a pocket. Thanks!

Still, I wonder why it over-rode the maximum depth I had set.

It’s interesting to watch the machine work. I try to ascertain the logic in what gets cut first, etc. Can’t see any yet.

It’s possible the high engagement pulled the bit downward from the collet. The machine didn’t cut too deep, the bit got longer.

6 Likes

Mmm… Very interesting. I’ve been using just the locking button on the router to tighten the bit. Maybe I need to use both wrenches instead to really make sure to bit is locked in. Thanks.

1 Like

We recommend that the button only be used to hand-tighten things so that they will stay in place while one fully tightens with a pair of good quality wrenches. The community has the following notes on Carbide Compact Router/Makita RT0700/0700 shaft and collet/nut wrench sizes:

2 Likes