LED Neon Sign Help - Acrylic

Complete noob here, I have a Shapeoko 4 xxl

I am trying to cut channels into clear acrylic for the led strip to sit in and silicon diffuser will slot in over the top. Using a special bit that leaves a grove on the inside of the channel for the diffuser

I am trying to do single lines text within carbide create to make something that looks similar to this:

How do I go about putting this in carbide create?

Everything I’ve tried so far doesn’t seem to work properly, i.e Lines showing up pink, can’t put a contour cut around the whole words etc.

Any help will be greatly appreciated

Can you post the LEDs, diffuser, and the cutter so we have an idea of what you’re doing?

Pink lines are not necessarily bad. It just means the vector isn’t closed so you can’t do a pocket or V-carve path that need closed vectors. You can still use a contour path with or without offset to cut on or next to an open vector.

I haven’t seen a single line font yet that is an actual single line. They all seem to still be closed vectors just very skinny. If the tool is the exact size of the slot you are trying to cut, then you probably want true single lines, in which case they will all be pink. Otherwise you might be able use the really skinny font and do the slots with dual passes on each cut depth level.

2 Likes

Your image is of a 3D object which has elements passing over/under in 3-dimensional space.

To simulate that you would need to have geometry which allows cutting some sections deeper/shallower than others in a fashion which seems to make things pass under/over.

See:

If you’ll let us know the specifics of what you are trying to do and post a file showing where you are stuck we can walk through this with you.

Hi Tod

Its the same as the Led strip and diffuser in this video: Testing a new 2-part style of LED "neon" - YouTube