Luthier/guitar building question

I asked this in other forums but I’ll ask here too since it is kind of CNC guitar specific.

I bought CNC files for from CNC3dguitars for a Gibson SG Standard a few years ago and I’m just getting to try them out now. I have only made bolt on Fender style in the past, so this is new to me. Any help or comments are appreciated as I’m still learning.

I milled a body and neck out of pine to test the files. The neck and body tenon toothpaths are not great and don’t really work well leaving large gaps. I’m going to see if I can modify them to work without screwing everything else up. This seems like something I could possibly fit with sharp chisels though.

I noticed at the end of the tenon on the top of the neck, it has the 3 degree taper, I assume to match the 3 degree taper in the bottom of the neck pocket. This makes it so the neck tenon is flush with the body on top. However, I am wondering how I can glue the fretboard to this since the taper starts where the fretboard would still be glued to the neck. This would cause a gap between the freboard and the end of the neck.

Is the back of the fretboard normally be tapered to match this, or is there something I’m missing about the taper? It seems like you would be bending the fretboard as you glued it on to match the taper on the end of the tenon.

2 Likes

If you’re talking about this… tapered neck pocket to accommodate a higher bridge…

Or even if you’re not…

The top of the neck and the base of the heal should both be parallel & flat.

There may be a good reason why the supplier of the files added a taper on the top of the neck.
But I can’t think of one. I would not want to have to fit a fretboard that way.

3 Likes