Machining Copper

One thing I have really been wanting to try is machining my own waterblocks for my pc. I have plenty of experience machining the polycarbonate I intend to use for the tops but I have never machined copper plate. Has anyone had any luck with any copper thicker than the layer on a pcb? I have heard it can be a bugger to machine and and in a previous post the health risks of certain alloys were outlined.

Also, does anyone know of a good source of copper plate ( >5mm)?

Has anyone had any luck with any copper thicker than the layer on a pcb?

I have, although not on a Nomad.

I have heard it can be a bugger to machine and and in a previous post the health risks of certain alloys were outlined.

Yes, be sure you’re using virtually pure copper or - FOR SURE - NOT an alloy containing Beryllium.

You can read about the toxicity of BeCu here:

I will dispute that it is a bugger to machine. I’ve machined 0.5 thick blocks of “110 copper” for my Tesla coil strike rails:

That’s the primary in the center. Digitally modulated pulses of 380VDC@500A are used to energize it. The secondary takes things to over 500KV. The copper blocks are the end points for the strike ring. You can see the supports; the ring itself came later - it goes to earth ground via the knob on the closest block.

For reference, the whole assembly was done with a CNC machine.

My experience is that with a little care and lube it’s about as easy to machine as 6061.

I would check G-Wizard for feeds and speeds, ensure G-Wizard is set for derating for a small spindle/router, use the deflection correction, use AlTiN coated end mills and have a spray bottle with lube in it - the soy stuff works well - and hit it periodically.

Whatever you do, when the job is done, be careful! The end mill, stock and/or piece can be… warm.

Also, does anyone know of a good source of copper plate ( >5mm)?

mark

P.S.