Marking small diameter holes

I’m fairly new to CNC milling and am using a Shapeoko 4XXL

I have a component that involves drilling a large quantity (32) of 1/16" diameter holes into a 9mm thk work piece. I guess it would be easier just to mark the holes and drill out on my bench drill. How should I approach this in terms of which bit to use and what toolpath. I’m thinking just use a 1/16" end mill and a drill toolpath to 1mm deep?
Any help would be appreciated

Yes, Carbide Create has a Drill toolpath which should work for this, so long as you set up feeds and speeds and other parameters appropriately to not have any deflection which will distort the cut.

Thanks @WillAdams
From your reply I gather that the default settings might not be appropriate, what settings would you suggest@

Thanks

What material? and what type of 1/16" end mill? (HSS, Carbide, # of flutes)
For drilling with an end mill, I’d recommend peck drilling with full retract to clear chips.

2 Likes

They should be, but one should always do a test cut in a piece of scrap.

Thanks again…I’ll do that

The material is 9mm Birch Plywood. The end mill is a Carbide 3D112Z (ZrN coated, 2 flutes)
I’ll do a test using peck drilling as you suggest.

Thanks

Default parameters look good F20 plunge, 0.030 DOC. 24000 RPM seems fast. FSWizard says 12000.
So if it looks like it’s heating up / burning try slowing the RPM down.
Still recommend full retract pecking to clear chips.

I would also minimize your retract height to absolutely as small as you can … watching out for clamps. You’ll spend an awfully high % of your time moving from hole to hole.

1 Like

Thanks Tod I’ll do that

1 Like

I’m down to a 3mm retract so should be not too bad timewise.

2 Likes

With one of these?

That does look like a good option gmack. I have to try and source one in the UK. Do Carbide 3D supply these, couldn’t see one listed?