Measurement offset

Hello,

Newbie here doing some experiments with an XL version of SO3.

I wanted to cut some 10mm slots in the back of a oak sign. The sign is 64mm x 300mm and that is the size I entered in the set up. I set the grids to 5mm and counted to make sure I had 60 squares. Then I drew a 10mm line starting at 50mm in from each end. So, I have two 10mm slots on the same line with a 50mm space on each end. Depth is 5mm.

It looks fine on the canvas of Carbide Create and the simulation looks even also. I saved the GCode file to my thumb drive and used my laptop to load it into Carbide Motion. I air carved the work only to find it was offset 5mm to the right side of the sign. I tried again with the same results then finally I made an entirely new project, Same offset. Finally, in Carbide Create I shifted the two slots 1 grid square to the left and it works perfectly when loaded with Carbide Motion.

I have the same problem with a rectangle border. It looks great in the Create program but is offset vertically by about the same amount as the above problem.

What am I missing in this set up?

Part of the setup in Carbide Create is deciding upon the origin for the project.

That will then be used as the zero point for the current machine zero — how are you setting that? Please describe the specific steps (post any files as well) describing each thing you’re doing, in tedious detail, what you expect to happen and what actually happens.

In the settings section I specify that the height is 64mm and the width is 300mm. The depth is 12.7mm. I also set the grid divisions to 5mm. I leave the depth measurement at the default top of the material and the origin (Red & white circle) at the lower left hand corner.