Milling through frame base for spoilboard

I’m new at this, so perhaps this is obvious, but working on a spoilboard for an SO3 XL.

I plan on milling an MDF spoilboard and adding threaded inserts into the backside, but how do I mill the SO3 base itself? I found this doc online (https://docs.carbide3d.com/tutorials/project-wasteboard/) but it doesn’t explain how to mill the holes into baseboard and not hit the center frame support strap. I can leave an onion skin there, but being new at this, that seems like a dicey first project to get right.

Any suggestions? Do I just span the center area with no wasteboard hold-downs? Do you just use self-tapping screws to anchor the wasteboard to the machine base and not worry about CNCing any thing other than the center points?

Thanks,
Adam

I think that guide is suggesting drilling the Spoilboard (the user added extra chunk of MDF that brings the surface up to the level of the front steel rail) and not the underlying machine baseboard, however…

If I were to be drilling the baseboard I might either;
a) Use the method in the guide to set the maximum plunge reach of the bit to just above the height of the steel (and cross everything)
b) Deliberately mill the holes a few mm short, take the baseboard off the machine and drill the remainder by hand with a drill once the machine has made an accurate hole grid for me to follow

2 Likes

That’s a little confusing… the written guide is machining the base board and the video preview image (I didn’t watch it) shows a wasteboard, and has wasteboard in the title.

You mentioned that you’re going to make a spoilboard/wasteboard, but are wondering how to machine the base board or are you wondering how to attach the spoil board to baseboard to make it?