My Cutting Board project is so far a flop. Some of the flourishes cut out and other parts do not, help!

Hi,
I’m new to Carbide 3D as I recently purchased a Shapeoko Pro XXL and I’m trying to carve out text on a cutting board. The issue I’m having is with flourishes not cutting out. Parts of them are barely cutting and other parts are not cutting out at all. I tried using different flourishes and that didn’t help the situation.
If possible, can someone take a look at my file to see if I’m not creating it correctly?
Thanks
John
Cutting Board Hamm upload file
Cutting Board Wayne & Jordynn.c2d (524 KB)

You’ll have to upload your .c2d file

Thanks, I think I’ve uploaded the right version now.

You will probably want to join the script text together:

https://carbide3d.com/blog/merging-script-fonts-in-carbide-create/

I don’t have the same fonts here:

so you’d need to duplicate a copy of the file and then convert everything to paths for us to actually be able to help.

1 Like

Thanks I will work on that and upload a new file

John,
I found a few issues with your file.

1. The flourishes vectors had overlaps/intersected themselves. That’s a problem. I changed them up a little.
  2. You had multiple duplicate vectors in the text. I deleted the extra vectors.
  3. When carving the flourishes, they are so thin even a small V-Bit makes them hard to see. I ran a V-Carve pattern with a start depth of .05 just on the Flourishes, which makes them work.

Hamm cutting board fixed

Also, when I make cutting boards, I contour cut around the entire work area. I do not cut all the way through; I cut down until there is about .25" left and use a hand-held router bit to clean it up.

5 Likes

Please note for the flourishes that you are using a 60 degree V tool:

At its widest point, the design is scarcely 0.04" across:

With a 60 degree tool this means that the machine will only be plunging the tool 0.0346" deep:

It will help if you re-draw the design so as to be more consistent: