My first post here, anyone in New Zealand?

I’m new to CNC, and thinking of buying one for some projects I have in mind, but as most of the kit is designed and made in the US I have some reservations about support and parts etc.
Anyone from AUS or NZ on here who can shed some light on these concerns?

Cheers

There’s a map of folks on the Unofficial Facebook Group (if you’re willing to join it):

and there are some folks who are from down under:

https://community.carbide3d.com/search?q=kiwi

We’ve sold a fair number of machines to both countries, and aside from the longer shipping times, support for them seems to work as well as for other locales.

If you have some specific concern, please let us know and we’ll do our best to assuage them.

FWIW I’m in Switzerland, which has similar concerns to yours (and I’m also Australian).

For the most part, the machine’s US origins just don’t matter.

You might need to replace the power cable with one for your local power socket but the cable is a standard AC power cable, the kind you might find on a PC power supply (or laptop, I can’t remember the particular variant).

Aside from that, there are some machine-specific accessories you might want to buy from Carbide 3D, like the vise, flip jig and threaded table but once you have them, the only other interaction you might have with Carbide 3D is support. Support is by email but you can schedule an appointment if you have issues to work through. IIRC they had appointments that a kiwi could reasonably make work. If there are any defective parts on the machine, Carbide 3D covers shipping, so you shouldn’t have any problems.

The main trouble you’ll probably run into is finding machining supplies in general, like raw material and endmills. That’s a problem regardless of where you buy a mill though.

3 Likes