My SO3 Projects - Aluminum & More

Hi all. New here. I’ve had my SO3 for a few weeks now and am extremely impressed with the machine.

By trade, I am an Industrial Designer but mostly, I do all kinds of lighting for cars and motorcycles. Hopefully the SO3 will make my job a little easier! I’ll be using it to make brackets for swapping factory projectors for proper, bi-xenon projectors as well as cutting out custom PCBs that I will be designing and making for different applications. For those interested, you can check out some of my previous work on Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/cappellettidesignllc/

Of course, I’ll be using it for random, fun projects too! Going to be grabbing some sort of exotic wood soon to design and cut some new legs for my glasses.

Because the majority of the stock I’ll be cutting on here will be aluminum, I went ahead an opted for the aluminum table from Carbide 3D. In an attempt to keep it looking somewhat nice, I made an MDF waste board with holes that will still allow me to utilize the threaded holes in the aluminum table and leveled it. Should be able to get plenty of use out of it before I need to cut another!

As seen here, I also made work holding clamps out of black 1/2" HDPE.

See post continued below since I can only add one image per post!

3 Likes

Now onto the fun stuff. I’ve CNC’d before and am familiar with the process. I frequented a ShopBot back at Purdue and loved it. Never cut aluminum though so I wanted to try a little project out before I jumped into the bigger cuts.

I grabbed a couple Destiny Tools 2 Flute 1/8" coated end mills, some aluminum stock from Carbide 3D, and went for it. Made a quick keychain file in Rhino (my modeling software of choice), exported as a DXF, imported into CC, and put the machine to work. The first one was okay. I adjusted my settings and the results were great! This was with manually spraying WD-40 onto the work piece.

6 Likes