Need Help! My S3 just sits there looking at me

Hi, I’ve been using my machine for almost 4 years, and while I do simple things, I’ve really enjoyed it. My normal operation is to draw in SketchUp and create the gerber file with SketchUCam, then send it to my S3 with UGS. My latest project started with a .svg file from someone else for a hole pattern for an electromechanical game. I modified it a little bit, got the latest Carbide Create and imported it, then put in tool paths.

The similation looked great on the screen. I had it generate the .nc file. But when I hit Send, UGS showed lots of lines going out, but my S3 just sat there and looked at me, did nothing. I tried it with simple g-code and grbl selected. I sent an old simple job and it still worked fine, so I think the machine is fine. My S3 sends Grbl 0.9g when it connects, the UGS program version is 1.0.9/Nov. 11, 2015. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Shapeokos now run GRBL 1.1, and I’m aware of compatibility constraints between GRBL version and Carbide Motion versions, but it’s the first time I hear about a potential compatibility issue between Carbide Create post-processor and GRBL version. I’m sure @WillAdams knows.

In the meantime can you double-check in Carbide Create if the selected post-processor (under “Edit”, “Select post-processor)” is “Shapeoko”, and not “GRBL” or “Basic G-code” ?

And maybe upload here the G-code file that doesn’t work, and the earlier one that works, for a quick check?

The problem you describe sounds as if the machine were put into check mode by sending $C

Another possibility is soft limits have been enabled, and UGS isn’t properly raising the alarm state.

Could it be that you were unsuccessful at generating G-Code? Have you compared the working file and the problematic ones?