Need starter tools

Going to order HDM very soon and I’m completely new to CNC. Can I get a list of starter cutting tools - ie collets, bits etc to start me off learning. I plan on starting with cutting wood then allum. Would like to buy on amazon if possible?
Again, I’m totally new and need a complete list of tools and bits.

thanks alot.

1 Like

The C3D tools are good tools and they are already entered into their database. Here is what I would suggest as a starting point. Buying the start sets can be a waste of money. They have a good price for the set but if you never use some of them it is not such a good deal.

#201 1/4" 3 Flute Upcut
#251 1/4" 2 Flute Downcut
#301 90 Degree Vee
#302 60 Degree Vee
#102 1/8" Upcut

These bits will take you far.

I have some of the c3d bits but I also use several 3rd Party

Whiteside 6210 1" Fly Bit
Whiteside 1/4" downcut
Whiteside 1/4" upcut
Groovee Jenny 60 degree downcut vee (Works fantastic)

My suggestion is buy the basics and get anything else you need as you go.

Some of the Amazon bits are cheap junk. Mass produced in China and will not last till the water gets hot. Stick with name brands. Some folks buy from particular sellers on ebay.

The HDM uses ER20 collets. Again buy quality collets and not Amazon Chinese collets. Not sure what collets come with the HDM maybe ask the sales@carbide3d.com. ER type collets are better than router collets due to the fact of how they are made. However cheap collets can be out of round.

In the long run buying quality accessories will make your machining happier. The difference in a cheap tool and a better quality tool averaged out over 5 years comes out close. Cry once buying a good tool instead of every time you use a bad tool.

Awesome, thanks alot. Should I get the fixture plate from SMW - its 1200 plus the vise etc it’s $1900 ?

I’d not start with that. You don’t need a machined bed to get going and the hybrid table is awesome.

1 Like