New guy with a few questions

Hey guys,

I’m in the process of preparing to purchase a XXL, I’m looking for any insight on things i’m might need to get ready (any things you wish you knew when you started)

The machine will be going in my basement so I plan on building an enclosure, I will be getting a dust boot hopefully sooner then later. I toyed with the idea of making 1 but for the price I’ll buy a Suckit!.
I have a couple shop vac’s and a Cyclone already.

I should mention that I have 3 years experience running a 5’x10’ cnc so this world is not new to me I’m more concerned about this specific machine and it’s in’s and out’s.

I was planning on using ArtCam for my art prep which I haven’t used in a few years and looks to be discontinued as of a few weeks ago. I’m hoping the Carbide Motion software will be compatible.

Anyway Any installation tips or heads up would be helpful. I hope to be ordering my machine before X-mas.

Thanks

Bill

Sounds great!

I know some folks have used ArtCAM w/ the machines — you just have to pick a suitable post-processor — Carbide 3D or Shapeoko or Grbl or LinuxCNC or Mach3 (in that order) will be fine.

You can preview files before sending them using Camotics or GrblGru or some other tool.

Big things are:

• be patient about the assembly — start w/ a level base, precision has to start somewhere
  • plan out things and start with small, simple projects and build on your successes and learn from mistakes and failures

My suggestion is go straight to spindle rather then a router. I’m using a 2.2KW spindle and VFD. The difference is night and day. Better HP and torque. If you go water cooled it way more quieter. And you have true speed control. I need to add that if you do go to a spindle you will need to make spring adjustments to your Z-axis or upgrade to a ball/screw drive like the Beaver HDZ. So it comes with a price tag but the spindle should last much longer than a router and give you way more capabilities.