New member: 2X2 5 Pro

Greetings from Kansas City, USA. Just ordered my first ever CNC, excited to join this community and learn from y’all. I’m a digital designer by day and into woodworking by night, I’ve been looking for ways to combine both worlds, to push my creative explorations, and possibly start a little business eventually. My shop space is limited so starting with a 2X2 5 pro (staying within a budget and a space, taking advantage of the Black Friday deal).

Whats one big advice that you’d share with a newbie like myself?

Cheers!

2 Likes

Always cut a prototype/test cut in some affordable, inexpensive material first.

8 Likes

I violated that rule last week and regretted it.

3 Likes

I just started the CNC world mid-summer. I would say the best way to get familiar with the software and machine was making things for your machine and setup. Wasteboards, jigs, laptop holder, bit organizer and all that. I thought 3D carves would be the bee knees. After a few I found that it’s more of just getting the file and hitting play unless you are actually designing your own 3d models (which would up the fun).

I have been playing with some “artistic” tests such as

trying to test some find interesting ways to use the machine.
Play with the machine, think out side the box and most of all have fun.

5 Likes

Listen to your gut.

“Huh, I wonder if…, nah it’ll be fine.”

Narrator: It was not fine.

If you have a sense of uncertainty, try to chase it down.

5 Likes