New Project Nervous Jitters

I am about to embark on a new project in Fusion360 I have never attempted previously and not sure exactly how to begin.
My wife has asked I make her a wooden plate as a decorative aspect in our house.
10" with a 1 or 2" center. I want it to have a top and bottom.
I have never used register pins but I’m not sure I need them for a round object? (Except for centering purposes?)
This will be run on my SPXXL.

Any advice for a novice here?

Eric

Which bits are you not sure about?

The CAD design of the plate, converting that to CAM or workholding / fixturing on the machine?

LiamN[Liam Newcombe]
(New Project Nervous Jitters - #2 by LiamN)
“Which bits are you not sure about?”

1. As stated I have never had a project with a top and bottom.
  2. Tabs, to me do not seem to be the right way to go to hold the plate for 2 sided machining? Maybe a JIG of some kind?
  3. Where to start? A Jig, a Plate Blank (wood circle)
  4. Bottom first then top to have tabs?
  5. Carbide Create or Fusion 360?

My wife “JUST” told me it doesn’t have to be tapered that it can be like a charger and have more of a flat appearance.

My mind is all over the place.

So a flat disc?
Maybe with a flat rim?

If that’s all she wants, sounds like a one sided project. Easy, but not as fun.

Like this?

1 Like

Yes, like that.
I have something drawn up in F360 but I do not remember how to link it to the community.
My bad here is my link.
https://a360.co/3yooyHG

This is a little thicker than I want it is about 0.7".

You can also file / export to an f3d and then zip it for upload here.

Plate Example v10.f3d.zip (2.2 MB)

I knocked up a simple plate (it’s not exactly pretty but it contains the major features for machining) and then threw some toolpaths at it to see how one might go about double sided machining it.

This is not exactly a tested set of toolpaths, take it as an indicative suggestion.