New User to the Community

I have been a woodworker for many years but am new to CNCing. I just bought a used Pro XXL last week. The previous owner delivered it from 2 hours away and spent a few hours helping me set it up to make sure I was happy. Kudos to him for that.

I have been reading a ton on the forums here and really appreciate all the valuable advice. Today I installed a Bitrunner and if Amazon hadn’t sent the wrong iVac switch I would have all that working together to control the spindle and dust collector on system.

I have made a few small test projects so far but have mostly been focusing on setup. I plan to cut new spoilboard slats tomorrow on my table saw and find or create a program to drill the holes for mounting.

I have tried to attach a pic of my setup and a closeup of the router. In that closeup you can see the rig I have where the dust collection meets the sweepy. I have a section of abs, a pvc female connector and a blast gate and then the 2.5” hose. All that adds up to 13 7/8 ounces. Any opinions on whether that is too heavy for that mount. I tried a lot of other configurations on the dust collection but the hose kept pinching. It works great now, but I had to move that blast gate lower as I can’t reach anywhere else.

Also, in the lower right of the other photo you can see my control system. I put in a 10” touchscreen that from uperfect that holds a raspberry pi internally. I put a pi 4 in it and loaded the debian build from Carbide. It works great! Thanks for releasing that version. I didn’t really want a laptop in the garage.

Anyway, as I said, I really appreciate the activity and responses from this community. I am looking forward to getting some real work done soon.

6 Likes

Nice view out the window. As you will discover there is a lot of watching the paint dry and watching the grass grow while sitting in front of the Shapeoko babysitting it. At least you have a nice view to look at.

1 Like